I am more than….

… Your job?, your relationship?, the abuse you recieve from your partner?, your car?, your home?, the constant pain you have?, your parents?

I’m asking because I  have finally realised I am more than the chronic pain I have in my lower back! For the last 2 years I have only really been the pain in my back! It was me, it was my life, it was the only thing I was! Nothing else I did or thought was more than the pain in my back.

After a visit to my pain psychologist last week I came, or rather she came to the conclusion that the pain in my back was ruling me. I was living with this pain that was totally taking over me and for me that was all I was because it effected so much in my life.

Suddenly she said to me “You are more than the pain in your back” And it was like a light went off in my head! She was right!

How many of us think we are our jobs, our relationships, the abuse we recieve, the chronic pain we have and so on?

We are so much more than that! We are EVERYTHING we do and think! Not just the one biggest thing in our lives. We can’t set our worth by that, can we? I am NOT going to do that anymore!
I know now, or have realised that just because I have chronic pain it doesn’t mean that’s all I am! I am everything I do and think… I am going to make this pain not be so big in my life….I know it won’t happen overnight and it’s not going to be easy. BUT! It can be done 🙂

I can do something to change how I think even if I can’t do anything about the pain. I can live letting it take over me and control me or I can live with it, along side it and enjoy everything else I do and think…..

pipkinera….

~ by pipkinera on January 22, 2012.

7 Responses to “I am more than….”

  1. No question that there is a psychological component to living with chronic pain. But, is that the cause or the effect? Only you can tell us if you’re imagining a bad back. If you think it’s troublesome now just wait 10 or 20 years. Find out about non-surgical spinal decompression, you’ll be glad you did. Search “Triangle Disc Care” in You Tube to see what 25 of my patients have to say about the procedure.

    • After 8 years of chronic back pain and various MRI’s I KNOW I am not imagaining it! What a thing to say?! Of course now that my pain has become worse and I am even more restricted I have become down and depressed now. If you know anything about back pain you would understand that after so long somebody would feel that way. I think I have done well to go so long without becoming depressed!

      I think making a comment about imagining back pain to someone who has been this way for so long is not right! Especially when you don’t even know the person! You call yourself a doctor? yeah of course I would be treated by you after the lovely first comment you made!

      pipkinera…. Extremely annoyed!

  2. Good for you, pip – for the realization! I wish you nothing but joy! 🙂

  3. Hey, awesome positive post, I really do think this is the way through it. I have back pain, Fibro and undiagnosed pain stuff, it struck me while I was at university and totally matched up with a period of very high stress in my life..and like you, i often let it rule me. I wish you all the luck and offer support if there is anything you want to talk about or you want to moan at someone who also suffers
    idrawlikenick x

    • It’s very easy to let something rule you when it’s with you constantly! But, we will win! 🙂

      You can moan and talk to me too 🙂 Sometimes it’s easier to talk to *strangers* and people who know how it feels to have pain all the time….

      pipkinera

  4. That seems like a wise attitude!! My personal opinion is that we can do so much more than we believe we can. But sometimes the Energy needed just isn´t there, it´s elsewhere – perhaps it gets sucked into the pain or the sorrow – like a Black Hole. I think the keyword is Directing or Canalising the Energy. Only question is: “How do I do it?”

    Keep buffering all your Good Thoughts : )

Leave a Reply

 
Wonky Parathyroids

The true story of Tex and his Posse, my wonky parathyroid glands

whynot2014

YOLO... Or do you?

Hypothyroidism Sucks

One girl's journey with hypothyroidism, health and everything in between.

thyroideva

A topnotch WordPress.com site

tonydavidwood

Just another WordPress.com site

ouchisanunderstatement

A Journal - Exploring Alternatives to Surgery - L5-S1 Disc Herniation

POCKETHEXORNA

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Everything happens for a reason

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Smärtbloggen

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Malins blogg

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Här ifrån och vidare...

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Senan som håller upp arselet

Min resa mot bättre rygghälsa, före och efter steloperation i ländryggen

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Learning to Deal

The Merry-Go-Round of Life

ediblesubstance

A foodie's thoughts

