Does an Epidural Steroid Injection hurt?…. Yes it (insert imagination here) does!!!

… Well it hurts when I have one! The first one I had was a year ago. My narcotic doctor gave me, or rather, tried to give me a local anesthetic first in my spine…. STOOOOOOOOOOPPPPP!!!!! OUUUUCCH!!! NO STOP… PLEASE!!!!!! Was what came out of my mouth… he stopped!

A new time was scheduled to do the Epidural Steroid Injection while knocked out instead. I have suffered back pain for way too long and was extremely sensitive to anything in my back. My pain receptors are now super sensitive which can happen with chronic pain… Something happens to the pain wires in your brain. I don’t know the  science but that’s basically it.

So, now I have them every three months because they really help the burning pain in my back… But I have to be knocked out for around 5 minutes every time. They have tried again since the first time… But I just can’t take the pain. For me it feels like a knife going in my back and stabbing and stabbing. Fortunately most people have this injection under a local anesthetic without any problems whatsoever.

Today I had another one… And I am usually in pain for about a week with the level of pain decreasing after 2 days.I don’t know if it is like that for everyone but the pain clinic have said it is quite normal? Today it is horrible. I can hardly walk, sitting is not even in my head and I can stand for about 1 minute without needing to lay down. Of course laying down doesn’t relieve the pain but it relieves the pressure on my spine.

I don’t know what to do with myself atm… Hopefully it will feel a little better tomorrow.

The results of my MRI were not good… No changes, still 2 heriated discs but one of them is not larger than before….. Oh what fun :-/

TV night tonight… and an early night for me!

pipkinera

~ by pipkinera on February 7, 2012.

11 Responses to “Does an Epidural Steroid Injection hurt?…. Yes it (insert imagination here) does!!!”

  1. Ouch. That sucks. I’ve had 2 ESIs with local. Each time I felt pressure pressure pressure then a jolt of pain down my leg at the end. I ached the day of the first one then had a pain free week. After the second one I had more pain and less relief. I am due for a 3rd but muddling through. Good luck.

  2. The relief for me gets better each time and lasts longer. I have heard a lot about it not working after a while for some :-/

    I have aching in my thighs this time too, which I don’t normally get.

    Don’t you want to have a 3rd one?

  3. I had the same experience with ESI as you did. It was the most horrible thing I have ever been through. And I have done two hernieated disc operations. I will never ever do one again. It is not worth it.

  4. Ouch! that sounds painful specially in an area that’s mostly bones and nerve endings, hope you won’t need to go through those too often 😦

  5. HI I just found your blog, I am doing my bike ride around blogs today. 🙂 Glad to see another back pain sufferer blogging about the experience of pain.

    I have had 2 major Thoracic spine surgeries, the last one with fusion and rib head removal. Never again will my back be opened!! I know if I hadn’t had those surgeries, I would not be feeling as ‘good’ (LOL) as I do now. The pain before both surgeries was off the charts.

    Before the first surgery, and in the interim of the 1st and 2nd, I had many many procedures. I was going to try anything for relief of the constant spinal pain. I had approx. 4 series of 3 Epidural SI’s over time, along with Radio Frequency (Nerve Ablation) and several blocks in the facets.

    I say that they all are painful, and I had various levels of pain and time of recovery. The epidurals were given for Thoracic pain, but it never went to that area. My legs were involved a lot too, and I realize just how dangerous they are. I am a nurse and knew a bit too much as all that was going into my spine.

    Gentle Hugs—<3

  6. Jag antar att du förstår svenska eftersom du följer min blogg. Så eftersom jag är så usel på att skriva på engelska så skriver jag på svenska, hoppas det inte gör nåt?
    Jag har också fått göra diskblokad på operation och jag förstår precis vad du menar med att inte stå ut med smärtan. Innan jag gjorde min diskografi visade MR att jag hade en disk som delvis buktade men inte ett fullt utvecklat diskbråck. Men när de gjorde diskografin visade det sig att disken var trasig på flera ställen och läkte diskvätska, så därför kunde den inte bukta mer än den gjorde.
    Därför hjälpte inte blokaden heller så nu väntar jag på en steloperation.
    Det kanske är så med din disk också, värt att kolla upp med din läkaren kan det ju vara i alla fall.
    Lycka till!
    PS. Vilka otroligt vackra smycken du gör, du borde verkligen sälja dem!!!

    • Hej! Ja. jag förstår svenska. Jag hittade din blogg på ryggstöd 🙂

      Så det gjorde otroligt ont för dig med? Min smärtläkare sa att det brukar inte göra så ont att man kan inte hantera det. Men herregud det gör ont! De kunde inte ens bedöva min rygg med sprutan.

      Det låter intressant med diskografi och att en disk var trasig. Jag undra nu om det är inte samma för mig? jag har haft ett problem med ryggen i 11 år nu och har 2 diskbråk. Har träffat 4 ortoped läkare och alla har sagt jag är inte tillräcklig dålig för en operation, och ingen kunde ge mig en diagnos! Jag var på Spine Center i Göteborg för första gången förr veckan och fick diagnosen SRS efter bara 10 muniter. Då sa han att det är alldeles för sent nu för mig att få en stel operation, jag kommer att ha ont fortfarande.

      Han pratade om ett blockad med en röntgen istället för den kortison spruta jag får just nu. Men jag har sagt redan att jag har ett jätte problem att få en spruta i ryggen.

      Sprutan brukar hjälpa mig vid den brinnande känsla i ryggråden och stickning i foten. Men den hjälpa inte dig?

      Tack för komplimangen om smycken! 🙂 Tyvärr har jag slutade med det för att jag kan inte koncentrera längre… Har alldeles för mycket ont -(

      • Jag tycker att du ska fråga om du kan få göra en diskografi på dina diskar. Man har hela tiden sagt till mej att min disk inte buktar tillräckligt mycket för att jag skulle kunna göra en vanlig diskoperation. Men vid diskografin så visade det ju sig att disken läker ut diskvätska så den inte kan bukta mer. När jag gjorde diskografin sprutande han in blokad i disken också men eftersom den läker så gav det ingen effekt.
        Till funderingen om att det gör ont. Min läkare sa att smärtreceptorerna är så retade att det är därför det gör så ont. Jag höll på att dö av bara hudbedövnings sprutan som han satte, de fick ge mig massor av morfin i kanylen för att jag skulle stå ut. Han ville inte söva mej eftersom han ville veta om jag kände igen smärtan i benet och höften när han sprutade in kontrast i disken. Efter undersökningen fick jag lite sömnmedel så jag fick slappna av en stund, det var fantastiskt. Sedan fick jag åka på CT-röntgen och där visade det sig än mer att disken var trasig.
        Min läkare har sagt att han inte kan ge några garantier för att operationen kommer göra mig helt smärtfri och att dessa operationer syftar mest på att ta bort smärtan i benet. Min reaktion är att jag förstår att det inte finns några garantier det gör det aldrig på en operation men om jag har chansen att bli bättre så tar jag den och hoppas på det bästa.
        Fortsätt att stå på dej!! Jag brukar säga att om inte jag kämpar för min kropp och mitt liv så kommer ingen annan göra det heller.
        Ha det gott!

  7. Min smärtläkare har sagt samma sak till mig. Min smärtsystem fungerar inte som det ska längre. Han har försökt 2 gånger utan närkos och det går inte. Jag nästan slog han första gången! LOL

    jag har kollat upp lite om diskografi idag och ska fråga han på Spine Center när han ringer mig. Grejen är att jag bryr mig inte om den stickning jag har i foten, fast det börjar blir sämre nu och jag har börjat med en konstig känsla i benet också, det är ryggen som gör mest ont och den som stoppar mig att göra vad jag vill och jobbar.

    Brinner det i din ryggraden?

Leave a Reply

 
Wonky Parathyroids

The true story of Tex and his Posse, my wonky parathyroid glands

whynot2014

YOLO... Or do you?

Hypothyroidism Sucks

One girl's journey with hypothyroidism, health and everything in between.

thyroideva

A topnotch WordPress.com site

tonydavidwood

Just another WordPress.com site

ouchisanunderstatement

A Journal - Exploring Alternatives to Surgery - L5-S1 Disc Herniation

POCKETHEXORNA

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Everything happens for a reason

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Smärtbloggen

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Malins blogg

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Här ifrån och vidare...

Bad Backs, Baking , Jewelry Making and anything else that pops up in my head

Senan som håller upp arselet

Min resa mot bättre rygghälsa, före och efter steloperation i ländryggen

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Learning to Deal

The Merry-Go-Round of Life

ediblesubstance

A foodie's thoughts

